// Dutch Harp Festival 2020

World Harp Competition


The results are in! Following the jury vote, five harpists have been selected to continue to the final round of the DHF World Harp Competition and perform their full original program at the Dutch Harp Festival this May.

Ian Mcvoy, USA
Tara Minton, Australia
Grace Roepke, USA
Uno Alexander Vesje, Norway
Romy Wymer, Netherlands

Regional Rounds

The following candidates competed in the Regional Rounds.

February 17

Tjasha Gafner, Switzerland
Romy Wymer, Netherlands
Héloïse de Jenlis, France
Gina Taylor, UK
Keziah Thomas, UK
Oxana Thijssen, Netherlands

February 18

Michelle Sweegers, Netherlands
Álmos Tallós, Hungary
Uno Alexander Vesje, Norway
Stef van Vynckt, Belgium
Solenn Grand, France
Mathilde Bernard, France
Tara Minton, Australia
Norma Mugnier, France
Elinor Evans, UK
François Pernel, France
Helena Ricci, Switzerland
Christa Emmerink, Netherlands

February 21

Juan Riveros, USA
Michelle Cobley, USA
Rosanna Moore, UK
Grace Roepke, USA
Ian Mcvoy, USA
Christina Brier, USA
Myriam Blardone, France
Matt Dupont, France
Eve Lung, Hong Kong
Jansci Wong, Hong Kong

The competition

The Dutch Harp Festival embraces creativity and innovation, and through the World Harp Competition we hope to redirect the focus of harpists around the world to discover and develop what it really takes to succeed in today’s musical environment. We do this by challenging candidates to present their most authentic and creative selves to the jury, in a context that combines the very real situation of pitching an idea to a programmer and performing at a festival with the rigorous structure of a world-class international competition.

Since its beginnings in 2010, the DHF World Harp Competition has established itself as one of the most respected international competitions for harpists worldwide – one which stands out for its fairness, transparency, creativity, and supportive atmosphere. Its guiding principles include its independence from sponsorship by harp makers, its diverse jury including both non-harpists and harpists, and its rigorous voting procedure. Taking the Competition a step further, the field is now open to all harpists, not just classical pedal harpists, and the contestants have complete artistic freedom over designing their own programs. We have a captive audience waiting and excited to see what you come up with. We hope you’ll join us for the adventure in 2020!

How it works

Over three rounds, candidates of the World Harp Competition compete to win the hearts of the jury and ultimately the grand prize. The competition begins with a recorded Preliminary Round, followed by the live Regional Rounds, and culminating in the Finals at the Dutch Harp Festival 2020. Watch our video coverage of the 2018 Regional Rounds to see how the World Harp Competition is making a bold break from tradition.

Read the FAQ

Winners 2018

César Secundino
1st Prize | Born in 1985 in Torreón, Mexico, César Secundino began playing the harp at the age of 19. He helped found the harp department at the State University of Nuevo León and, there, became the first harp student to graduate with a bachelor’s in harp. He later went on to study at the Superior Conservatory of Aragon in Spain as well as Berklee College of Music. His technique is a unique combination of Latin-American virtuosity and European refinement. His arrangements and compositions are performed by harpists around the world.

2nd Prize | Alice Belugou
3rd Prize | Aimee Hang Yu Lam
Audience Award | César Secundino

Follow the Competition

Would you like to stay up-to-date as the DHF World Harp Competition 2020 unfolds? Drop us a note here, and we'll make sure to send you news and announcements as they happen!